Love and Obedience Were Forever Established When I Saw my Father Lying down on the Floor!

This incident happened when I was about twelve years old. I was sick throughout that day. I had a head ache and felt feverish. My parents ensured that I got proper medical attention immediately. The illness worsened towards evening time and my father kept checking on me to be sure that I was ok. I struggled to sleep in the night.

When I woke up in the middle of the night, I saw my father lying down on the floor. I got confused immediately and struggled to place my finger on what was really happening. Did he really leave the comfort of the bed in his room to lay down on the floor of my room just to be checking on me? Did that mean that he loved me? Really he did? Oh! A reciprocal love was excited in my heart that began the process of clearing the negative emotions generated by unnecessary personality criticism and sibling comparison. The then prevalent aggressive parenting practices did not help issues!

The fact that my father really loved me greatly became clearer from then on and he had it easier eliciting love and obedience in his interactions with me. One of the key hallmarks of a healthy parenting relationship – reciprocal love between parents and their children – became realised in my relationship with my father. The view that any parenting practice which stifles the effective communication of parental love to the children would work against the achievement of enduring obedience was evident in this development.

I get confused when I listen to the argument by a lot of people that aggression should be meted out in great measures  to children in order to achieve obedience in an environment in which the prison yards are congested with people whose struggle with obedience and self-control got them into trouble; the mass media is replete with news of corrupt practices of politicians; the spate of social vices are alarming; hatred and terrorism are wiping out communities; examination malpractice is a national concern and achievement of obedience has remained elusive to many parents.

Effective parenting skills produce impressive results in an atmosphere of love and discipline. It demands that parents should model and communicate godly virtues of peace, disciple, diligence, selfless service, and love in all interactions with their children. Parents should be close enough to continually support the proper spiritual, physical, cognitive and social development of their children.  In healthy parenting relationships, parents are expected to prayerfully get closer, love more, listen more and talk more with their children in their efforts to resolve any parenting difficulty. Improvement will surely be achieved with the right method.

-Uchenna N. Nduka

5 thoughts on “Love and Obedience Were Forever Established When I Saw my Father Lying down on the Floor!

Leave a Reply

