The stories couldn’t just be ignored.

Hello friends, after exchanging greetings with one of the parents of the children in the children’s church, I asked about my little friend who just finished her secondary education. “She has just entered the university,” she said with a strange smile. When I asked further about her course of study and university, she said indifferently, “She could go to whatever university that was available and study whatever course she could secure. I just could not stand her unruly behavior at home anymore!” This response made me stand at the point where the conversation occurred for some minutes after she left, thinking about how this situation could be improved.

A parent recently told me how she requested that her son of 10 years be put in the school prison and he was maltreated for some days when she felt her series of flogging could not subdue him into obedience.

A story was told on a television programme about how a couple flogged a child of about 9 years old to death because she was wasting kerosene when she left the water boiling for too long. A picture of her corpse just after she was killed was shown on the television. As usual, I cried all through the night and woke up with a head ache the next morning.

The mass media is replete with such weird stories. It infects homes and schools like a virus. Some believe it is our culture to maltreat children in this way. Others believe it is biblical. I am not even sure what I can make out of all these. The only thing I am sure of is that I am deeply worried about this development. I am afraid that whatever success those who are as worried as I am may have made with legislation may still be implemented by people who have such unsupportive belief system and cultural orientation. We don’t need to be told that the street children littering the nooks and crannies of the cities in Nigeria are evidences of failed parenting efforts.

Hence the need for this blog: To enhance our parenting abilities by broadening our understanding so that parenting can be done passionately with great results.

You are all invited to be part of it. Your interaction through posts and comments will help greatly in improving on the worrisome situation. We hope to learn from each other by sharing parenting experiences from different parts of the world. Please like our Passion in Parenting Facebook page to view our posts. We really count on you to make this vision a reality.

Regards,

Uchenna N. Nduka

Admin.(passioninparenting@wordpress.com , 23rd, November, 2015)

The post above was the first on the Passion in Parenting  blog. I was so haunted by the story below which I shared on the 12th of November, 2015, with my Facebook friends that I had no peace until the 23rd of November, 2015 when this blog was launched.

Ewoo! I just heard about a “disciplinary? ” approach applied to secondary school students. They are put in the school “prison?” for days, with their legs bound in chains They sleep outside to experience the harsh weather conditions with mosquito bits and everything so that they will “change” and obey their parents. I cried and in fact had a sleepless night when I heard that sometimes “parents? ” make such requests. The harvest is indeed ripe but labourers are few. Where are the labourers who are divinely equipped to help grind this IGNORANCE to a halt. I recently handled a topic on this in a women’s conference in September this and women were crying after I explained to them the implications of such wrong treatments to children. Some mothers who were getting the wrong results gave their testimonies in TEARS. Please if you are informed help your siblings, friends, children’s school management, children Sunday school teachers, neighbours and every parent around you to have the proper understanding on how to get it right in parenting with love. Watch out. I will write more on this. Have a blessed day.

The anniversary post will continue in the coming week. Thanks to the readers of this blog. I wish you all excellent parenting results.

Effective parenting is achievable with the right skills. let’s learn it, Practice it and share it

 

Leave a Reply

