Parenting provides support to the learning process which occurs naturally with each activity the child engages in.

A parent shared this encouraging experience. Please read and share.

There was a day my daughter was waiting in my office after school. I became too engrossed with work that I did not notice when she became the ‘busy bee’ that kids usually are at her age. She was five years old.

She went beyond the allowable boundaries of play and a valuable item was damaged. She was the first to notice it. She immediately walked towards me with the damaged item soberly.

‘I am very sorry mummy. The paper punch has spoilt. It was my fault” she said with a palpable feeling of remorse.

“Oh! No!” I exclaimed.

“Why did you play with it? Did I not give you toys?” I asked with dissatisfaction.

“I am sorry mummy. I am very sorry” she pleaded.

She left the spoilt paper punch on my table, walked to a quiet corner in my office and sat down calmly.

I continued with my work since that was actually one of my peak periods. I was not aware that she was studying my mood until I saw her standing in front of me five minutes later.

“I really made you angry mummy. Have you forgiven me?” were her words that rekindled the love we both shared.

I drew her close and gave her a passionate hug. I assured her that I had forgiven her and was no longer angry. My facial expression gave her the confidence to go back to her usual radiance. She then smiled and left.

I however noticed that after that incidence, she was very careful not to touch any item in my office without my permission. She played with her toys.

Parenting Lessons

  1. In a healthy parenting relationship, the flow of communication between parents and their children is filled with love, patience, empathy and sound logic. Here, children are raised to be lovely, intelligent and conscientious.
  2. It is not true that children should be flogged before they learn a lesson. Without legislative prohibition, flogging children is a personal choice and not a necessity. Passionate parents who have effective parenting skills have achieved great results without flogging their children.
  3. It should be recalled that flogging (corporal punishment) was listed among the pollutants to the right atmosphere of discipline in our reflection post of 7th January, 2016.

Passionate parents are in control of their emotions and communicate effectively with the child even in the face of provocation.

  • Uchenna N. Nduka
One thought on “Parenting provides support to the learning process which occurs naturally with each activity the child engages in.

  1. Ya healthy parenting makes up to 60% of child’s learning . a well behaved child is not d kind of school he/ she went to but d kind of parenting guidance involved, so dear parents be all standing to do d good work no matter what, God will help us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

